Find a

Find a

Jerauld County Dental Clinic Welcomes Outreach Students

Sep 14, 2017 | Blog

(WESSINGTON SPRINGS, SD) – Horizon Health Care, Inc. (Horizon) and Jerauld County Dental Clinic, in collaboration with the University of Minnesota, are pleased to introduce two dental students who are doing their clinical rotations in Wessington Springs from September 11 – October 9.

The two students visiting Wessington Springs this year are Keshia Milbauer of Saint Cloud, MN, and Lauren McGovern of Fergus Falls, MN. Keshia enjoys being in the outdoors, camping, canoeing, and art, especially painting and stained glass. Following dental school, Keshia’s plans are yet to be determined, but she knows that she would like to be a general practitioner and work with patients in a rural area. “I enjoy the beauty and serenity of a small town,” said Keshia.

Lauren enjoys being on the lake, boating, sailing, swimming, and cycling. Traveling is her favorite thing to do, and she also considers herself a big “foodie”, enjoying cooking and trying different cuisines. Following dental school, Lauren would like to be a general dentist within a small community. She is passionate about becoming a family dental practitioner and being able to provide care for all ages.

 “It is a pleasure to once again welcome the dental students from UMN to Wessington Springs,” said Dr. Michelle Scholtz, Chief Dental Officer of Horizon. “Our partnership has been very beneficial to Horizon, as we have been fortunate to hire six dentists (including Dr. Nick Thome of Jerauld County Dental Clinic) to work at our dental clinics after their rotations.  These dental rotations are a great opportunity to bring dental students back to our rural communities.”

For over 39 years, Horizon Health Care, Inc. has been providing personalized, affordable, high-quality medical, dental and mental health care through a rural, community-based network in South Dakota. Horizon is a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) that serves the medical, dental and mental health care needs of South Dakotans in rural, medically underserved areas through 105,000 patient visits annually in 31 community health centers in: Aberdeen, Alcester, Bison, Bryant, De Smet, Eagle Butte, Elk Point, Faith, Fort Thompson, Howard, Huron, Isabel, La Plant, Lake Preston, Martin, McIntosh, Mission, Plankinton, Wessington Springs, White River, Woonsocket, and Yankton. For more information please visit

Translate »