Find a

Find a

Fort Thompson Community Health Center Celebrates One Year Anniversary

Sep 30, 2016 | Blog

(FORT THOMPSON, SD) – Horizon Health Care, Inc. (Horizon)’s Fort Thompson Community Health Center is celebrating one year of service this month.

On September 1, 2015 the Fort Thompson Community Health Center opened their doors to provide quality health care to the Fort Thompson and Crow Creek Reservation area. Led by Sarah Newton, PA-C, the clinic offers a full range of health services, including: family medicine, pediatrics, lab services, immunizations, free sports physicals, and mental/behavioral health. They also offer additional resources, such as the Sliding Fee Program and 340B Prescription Drug Program, as well as accept most health insurances.

Since opening last year, Horizon has been steadily working to bring additional services to the Fort Thompson CHC. This fall, they will begin offering OB services through Sanford in Chamberlain, with OB appointments available at the clinic. They also recently added Donna Linke, CNP, MSN, to the team as a Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner to provide mental health services.

“We would like to thank our wonderful patients, community, colleagues, and business partners as we celebrate one year in business,” said Newton and her Fort Thompson care team. “We’ve built many great relationships already and we’re looking forward to strengthening them further. Thanks for letting us help serve the medical community in and around the Fort Thompson area.”

The Fort Thompson Community Health Center care team includes: Sarah Newton, PA-C, Dr. Michael Pena, Donna Linke, CNP, MSN, Tara Weeman, Audra Alberts, Andrea Schaub, Red Olson, and Lori Feller.

For over 38 years, Horizon Health Care, Inc. has been providing personalized, affordable, high-quality medical, dental and mental health care through a rural, community-based network in South Dakota. Horizon is a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) that serves the medical, dental and mental health care needs of South Dakotans in rural, medically underserved areas through 83,000 patient visits annually in 25 community health centers in: Aberdeen, Bison, Bryant, De Smet, Eagle Butte, Faith, Fort Thompson, Howard, Huron, Isabel, La Plant, Lake Preston, Martin, McIntosh, Mission, Plankinton, Wessington Springs, White River and Woonsocket. For more information please visit

Translate »